It’s that time of the sumer again. Just shy of about half way through, the dreaded summer apathy and boredom sinks in. Realizing that I only have an hour of Abbey work a day (which at this point is still mainly painting), three days of work a week, and three days of meeting with the Abbey/church and youth group stuff (so the day has three or four hours-ish taken up by that), the rest of my time just seems to kind of…float away.

Don’t get me wrong, with how hard I work myself during the school year, I need a break during this time. It’s not that I want to be busy or stressed or any of that, but I think there’s a necessity to do something useful with my time – not just working more hours, catching up on TV shows, or playing mindless games online. I really need to get out more.

Even though I paid my tuition this pay period, I also sprung for some art supplies. It may not be getting out, but it’s getting away from my computer and a way to feel at least somewhat useful. Plus, I always feel much better during and after doing something creative. If I’m upset, have a big decision, or am in a bad mood, art helps me clear my head and focus. It gives my brain something else to work on consciously while being able to process whatever is going on subsconciously. Granted, sleeping has some of those same effects, but that’s pretty hit or miss and I’m already known as a serial napper.

I think I may start volunteering at the library more. Right now I’m at about one morning a week, maybe I’ll jump that up to two or three – I’m sure Heather’s mom could find work for me.

I might also extend my half an hour of silence to be a bit longer. Kenny and I are semi-racing each other through the Old Testament. I mean, um, what? Okay, actually, reading The Message is more interesting to me than my NIV Bible, and after Kenny made mention that he had read through Exodus twice in the time it took me to read Genesis (granted, a chunk of that time was before I was being consistent about reading everyday) the race was unofficially on. I just haven’t told him yet. Maybe I will around Deuteronomy? Yea, that sounds about right.

Other than that, I’m doing fairly well. My dad loved my gift (I’ll post a photo in my next blog, I’m already comfy in bed and don’t want to go out to the conference room to get my camera) but he was busy working on restoring a truck for his dad, so I mostly hung out with my mom and Esther. My family’s never been big on just hanging out together, but between lunch, exchanging photos, and desert, I spent five hours with Esther (probably about three with my mom). It’s good to catch up with her, I’m finally starting to feel like I know my sisters and I don’t as often feel like I’m back to being 12 or 13 when I’m around them.

By the way, in retrospect I should have expected teasing for my last blog. It’ll probably take a couple days to no longer get crap about “writing a blog where I just go on and on about penis problems”. I really walked into that one, but oh well.

My eyes are staying closed longer and longer, and I can’t think of a good ending for this. I also don’t have a title yet. Ummm….If I was more clever, I’d put in a witty picture related to something I talked about, as a reward for reading all this. But I’m not that clever, and this made me giggle for an embarassingly long time.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. NonCharon
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 14:44:20

    It’s Joshua that is blogging about pens today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

