I’m actually in a good mood, I swear!

Wow, it’s been awhile. The summer is coming along quite nicely; our communal areas are quickly getting cleaned and organized, my art classes are…er…well, once people are back from vacation it’ll be a lot better. I’m starting to get back into doing crafty things, I’m trying to put in some time every day (which actually isn’t as hard as I thought it would be). Currently I’m working on a pattern for a hat that I started a couple months ago but got frustrated with. I feel confident enough to tackle it and may just have to wing some of it. Yesterday I watched movies with Alannah and Heather – it was pretty fun, nice and relaxed while we munched on watermelon and ice cream. Last night I went down to Thursday night market with Heather. Honestly, I didn’t have high expectations – I even brought my knitting because I guessed that I would get annoyed and frustrated. I didn’t even take it out of my bag once 🙂 It was a nice night, very hot, but no major drama or anything else.

The only thing that’s been frustrating lately is my rapidly increasing tuition. It jumped $300 this semester, and I got an email yesterday stating that it was going up another $300 – I have less than a month to have the money. Up until this point, my inheritance (I guess that’s the best way to put it) has covered almost all of my tuition, and I’ve paid insurance, books, food, and living expenses, usually coming out just about even. At this point, however, tuition costs are outpacing all my sources of income very rapidly, and FAFSA refuses to acknowledge me as an independent essentially until I’m married, have a kid, or join the military.

I think part of why it bothers me is that the Abbey has spent a lot of time stressing balance – for me, balance between work, school, and relationships. I’m given the choice of either working more hours (if I can even get them) and messing up the good balance I’ve found, or living off top ramen and still having to go into debt next semester. Actually, top ramen may be my meal of choice either way.

I really didn’t intend for this post to be a downer, but the issue’s been on the back burner in my head since yesterday, even with all of the fun I’ve had. You know how, if you read something right before bed your mind keeps working on it subconsciously? Well, I’ve had this going subconsciously for the last 24 hours, and I’ve still got nothing.

Leave a Reply

