Weekend! Well, sorta

This week is pretty busy, and while technically I’m on my weekend right now due to furloughs, it certainly doesn’t feel like it. I’m going in for my school placement tomorrow and Friday, so I actually leave earlier and are gone longer than I would be on a normal school day. Yay? Ah well, at least I’ll get my hours cleared up sooner. 45 hours are a chunk to fit in, and it’s a draining experience; it’s good for me, and I’m glad I’m doing it, but it makes for long days.

I need to prep for this Saturday’s art class. Last Saturday was our first session for the fall, and it went well; it was only Summer and Josh’s kids, but it wasn’t too insanely messy and everything worked out okay.

SUC50005I forgot to get pictures of making our cave paintings and making bricks (hint: I may have been inspired by a certain cob house in Concow), but we painting our clay bricks and made a cute little pyramid out of them.SUC50011

Sure, it’s crumbly and doesn’t fit together well, but it was made by kids ranging from ages 2 – 6, what do you expect? Okay, yes, I made about half of those bricks beforehand, but in my defense…actually, no, I don’t really have any excuse.

I made the mistake a couple of weeks earlier promising to help one of my friends finish a knitting project – she wasn’t sure how to cast off, and I thought it would be easier to show her rather than try to explain it – but as soon as a few girls around me saw me knitting, a queue started up of who I would help/teach/make something first for next. I can’t complain too much, it’s not like I have any of my own projects that I’m working on, but I’m not sure I like being the “weird knitting girl that lives in some crazy church in Paradise”. I should probably be used to it by now.

Leave a Reply

