Week 9 Down

Woohoo, another week down! I must say, the highlight of my week was that I finally got a solid sabbath. For the last month or so, I’ve been so busy that the thought of a day off hasn’t even crossed my mind, but Thursday I had no homework due and no class until 2:00, so I spent the morning relaxing and rejuvenating. I’m still pretty tired – I don’t know why, I’ve been getting 6 – 7 hours of sleep a night, and while that isn’t exceptionally good, it shouldn’t be bad enough to make me this tired.

Unfortunately, technology was kinda iffy for me this week. My xbox finally broke down, my camera broke (while it seems it’s just the button that takes the picture that doesn’t work, I have no idea how to get that fixed) and, after months of printing stuff at school because I thought there was a cord missing from our printer, I finally found out that it was working and went to print a paper. It was out of ink. Grar.

School’s been chugging along, and I’m almost done with my placement hours. I cannot express how glad I will be to get that done. After that, it’s mostly just a few more minor papers and some tests, and it’s Christmas! Monday is the due date for one of my biggest projects, an approximately 15 page paper on the subject of my “personal practical philosophy” of teaching (the name should tell you how enjoyable that is), but once that’s done it should be smooth sailing.

Tomorrow’s art class will mark the half way point for this session. While up to this point it’s only been Summer and Josh’s kids, though I may have an extra couple this week, I still feel like there’s value in it. If nothing else, it gives me practice for consistently making lesson plans and making sure I have a purpose in each activity. Since I’ve never put in significant time with kids younger than about 7, it also gives me a better estimation of their attention span, as well as cognitive and physical abilities. So essentially, I’m getting more comfortable with the fact that, just as I don’t judge our communal meals or youth group purely by the amount of people, I’m finding that I can still find worth and purpose doing art classes. Even if it’s just for a first grader and several preschoolers.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a well-deserved date night and a (hopefully) good weekend ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

