Let the hunt begin!

I’m not much of a re-watcher or re-reader. Despite the fact that I realize that there are many cases where viewing something again helps me gain more insight, or catch other facets I hadn’t noticed, it’s just not particularly my thing. For the sake of being sociable, I’ll probably end up seeing Avatar at least three or four times, but I would have been perfectly content with just once. I don’t think I’ll ever understand my sisters’ obsessive re-watching of Dane Cook’s “Vicious Circle” and how they chant out the jokes word for word with him.

But all that to say, there is one book that I reread over and over again, Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson. I first picked it up in junior high, then again in high school, and when I had it assigned for a class in college I finally bought it and have read it at least once every year since. It’s pretty safe to say that it’s had a large role in shaping my teenage and young adult years.

I’ve never been able to put my finger on why the book has resonated so strongly with me, and though I have a few psychological guesses, most of it boils down to my similarities with the main character. I’m debating going into more detail with that, but I don’t think it’s really necessary – just suffice it to say, it means a lot to me and I’m not completely sure why.

Reading Speak annually (and sometimes even semi-annually) isn’t something I have to remind myself of, but instead it just pops into my head one day and I go home and read it over the course of the next few days. This year, the day that it popped up was early this past week, but I haven’t had a chance to pick it up. Finally, tonight I went over to my bookshelf to pick it out from amongst the jumble, so it would be right there and ready for me in the morning. Unfortunately…

It wasn’t there. I checked at least three times, making sure it wasn’t hiding between booklets or something. It wasn’t. Maybe it was just the long day, or the stress of this week finally getting to me, but I felt a rising panic welling up inside. I have never, ever had this kind of emotional attachment to a book, or even many objects in general, and I’m still actually a bit upset.

After giving up for the night, leaving my room in even worse condition than usual, I have decided that tomorrow will be Clean My Room/Find My Copy of Speak Day, because that is a valiant way to spend my sabbath.

Leave a Reply

