Week 10 and the ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE!

This week has been…interesting. I worked five days straight, and for several days in a row felt little inclination to eat or sleep. The only thing I could think of would be that it was stress related, though I’ve felt little stress all week. Well, except for these guys hunting me on campus:

Yes, that’s right. the Zombie Apocalypse (also known as Humans Versus Zombies) came to campus this week.

Alex took part as well, for his third semester. He survived the first two games, but this time was taken out not too long after me (though to be fair, there are buildings that are much more active because more people from those subjects play – applied computer graphics, sciences, math, and computer sciences  – and he has more classes in these areas than I do.) By the way, those socks are the weapons used to stun zombies since we aren’t allowed to use nerf guns.

The humans had missions to complete throughout the week for rewards, including getting a scientist to a lab so he could cure several zombies

as well as…eating hot dogs? Yea, I don’t know, I was a zombie by this point.

Most of the missions ended up being a LOT of running (there’s no workout like the zombie apocalypse, huh?), and doing our best to  stay away from corners/bushes/other blind obstacles

in case one of these buggers popped up out of nowhere.

It was particularly interesting for me to watch how people interacted with each other throughout the week. Everyone starts off as a human, and there’s a ton of cohesion among the group – or at least on the surface. Once you get past the shouts of “Viva la resistance!” it gets obvious that everyone’s still guarded, because anything you give away about class schedule, tactics, etc, you might be giving to someone that will be a zombie within the hour.

As humans started dropping like flies, those that were converted early on are completely loyal to the zombies, while those that get tagged later tend to feel a lot of sympathy with the humans (particularly since some zombies get to be brought back to the human side, so there’s some self interest there too). I was still cheering for the humans right up until the point I found out that I can still play as a zombie today even though I’m “deceased” (that means I didn’t eat enough brains).

So, I’m going to go bake a NOT-birthday cake for a certain someone, head down to Chico with Alex to nom some brains, and come back up to play a zombie board game. That is a lot of zombie in one day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NonCharon
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 10:57:01

    I finished the cake for breakfast today. Surprisingly yummy for a recipe that substituted Elmer’s White Paste for sour cream. 🙂

    Reply

    • aisle4b
      Apr 11, 2010 @ 11:07:08

      Unless my tastes have changed considerably, I’d like to point out that yogurt tastes significantly different from paste 🙂

      Reply

  2. NonCharon
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 17:45:12

    Ok, I bow to your superior level of experience and discerning palate. 😉

    It was still good, yogurt or paste.

    Reply

  3. QWMichael
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 00:47:14

    I shouldn’t be surprizing so hard at that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

