Movin’ On

The project I’ve dubbed my “peace project” is all done now.

There’s really no easy way to go about forgiving someone. I can say the words all I want without it effecting my heart at all.

The only way I could think of was to purposefully, methodically make something for them and give it to them. I don’t know why this works, but it seems intuitively right.

I worked on this all weekend while I was sick, admiring the yarn and the pattern, more than a little irritated to know I’d be giving it away to someone I don’t like.

But the process has helped. I’m not done yet, but something clicked in me this morning, a sudden disengagement from the hurt and anger and all the nasty emotions. I’m closer to being done and over with this, with finishing the forgiveness process.

Staying bitter and angry hurts no one but me, and it feels refreshing to have a chunk of it lifted off me.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NonCharon
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 19:42:24

    Good job, on all sorts of levels. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 20:00:32

    Wow! You made homemade cheese, homemade crackers, faux ice cream, knitted some cool cables, and kept off the weight. That’s an awesome day!

    Reply

  3. Joshua Price
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 15:40:46

    i’m with noncharon… well done on multiple levels…

    as an added bonus, your photography is dramatically improving, great new layout on the blog, as well as your execution on all the things you seem to enjoy…

    well done

    Reply

    • aisle4b
      Jul 30, 2010 @ 15:45:32

      It’s a little easier to take pictures when my phone (camera) is with me all the time, instead of having to run and dig through stuff in my room to find it. And practice leads to improvement, so….

      I’ll confirm your assertion earlier that in comparison to other people my age, my life is unequivocally dull. But I enjoy it, and I believe that is what counts!

      Reply

  4. NonCharon
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 18:01:52

    We could always find you a psychotic stalker to spice things up. 🙂

    Reply

    • aisle4b
      Jul 30, 2010 @ 18:39:21

      You know, I’m tempted to joke that he’d be bored by me, but I don’t want to tempt fate. So…..

      I’m good, thanks 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

