Christmas, and a happy new year

On the first day of Christmas, I stressed out about money.

On the second day of Christmas, I caved in and ordered several presents off Amazon because I didn’t want to be forever marked as “that” sister who gives only homemade presents.

On the third day of Christmas, we got a tiny little Christmas tree and decorated it with handmade ornaments from around the world

On the fourth day of Christmas, I squirted paint all over the place and made some nifty origami boxes for stockings.

On the fifth day of Christmas, I burned baked homemade Oreos to put in said boxes.

On the sixth day of Christmas, I made plans to give the kids in my life experiences for the gifts (or, to be witty, “presence” instead of “presents”.)

On the seventh day of Christmas, I started broaching the topic of not exchanging gifts next year because I can. not. do this anymore.

On the eighth day of Christmas, I procrastinated by making a paper star instead of a papercut. It didn’t make me feel any better.

On the ninth day of Christmas, I procrastinated by reading Mark Reads and Mark Watches and loved every minute of it.

On the tenth day of Christmas, I had a bit of a breakdown and chucked the wreath I’d been working on in the trash. And felt immensely better for it.

On the eleventh day of Christmas, Sister Number 2 convinced me to work past my self doubt and make a portrait for Sister Number 3

Top image is pencil draft, bottom is final product, with both given to her.

(The watercolor resist made sci-fi-esque jooooooom shweeee vooooooop sounds that made me laugh the entire time I was taking it off.)

On the twelfth day of Christmas, I finished all my wrapping

Took pictures in silly hats

Watched my parents give Sister Number 3 a gift that made her cry with relief

Discovered that my favorite childhood cookies are totally a pain in the ass to make

Made plans to visit my sisters at the end of the year

Was floored by the generosity of my family (even Number 2, who claims I am spoiled rotten)

Ate candy for my Christmas dinner

Was given another bottle of the lotion that I associate solely with Alex – debated whether it was being stubborn or silly to use it anyway because I like the smell

Wondered if New Alex would ever call me and if I’d ever find some guy crazy enough to live this kind of life with me

Got annoyed with the Self magazine I got in my stocking because it was mostly full of stuff to buy that was overpriced and I wouldn’t buy even if it wasn’t. Oh consumerism…

Thought about how lucky I am to live where and when I am, with all of the privileges I have

Merry Christmahannakwanzaa.


Leave a Reply

