National Blog Post Month

So I’ll be honest, I don’t completely understand how this works. The title says “month”, but by poking around the site you can see that they’ve had prompts for the last year. Maybe it’s a year-round thing that you get challenged to do once? Dunno.

I’m just gonna go with it. Even though I find myself less and less inclined to write a personal blog, and more drawn to blogging about crafty things and working with kids, I think it’s good practice to work on my writing and personal voice.

I’ll let you in on a secret – I hate the way I write in non-academic circumstances. College has me well trained to be able to at least sound like I know what I’m talking about, but I write casually the same way I talk. I don’t necessarily mind the way I talk, but seeing it in writing makes me cringe.

So I’ll do National Blog Post Month (or NaBloPoMo if you want to sound hip). I’m a day behind to start off (funny how working on Friday with a client I have on Thursdays can throw of my entire perception of what day it is), and no, don’t worry, I won’t cheat and count this as my first day. I’m not even particularly enthused with the theme for this month, so I may very well end up looking through old prompts or even – gasp! – making up my own.

Leave a Reply

