We’re halfway through the summer?

To start off NaBloPoMo, I’ll do a post I’ll need to finish up anyway – New Year’s Resolution updates!

Get in 30 minutes of cardio three times a week, and some other sort of exercise two to three other times throughout the week

I’ve been going to the gym for an average of just shy of 30 minutes a day. I’ve just barely started going to classes, some of which I even like more than the ones at the college, but otherwise my favorite part is the weight machines. I know, I’m definitely no bodybuilder, but my body seems to gain strength pretty easily (endurance is a whole different matter). In the 6 weeks I’ve been to the gym the amount of weight I can lift/push/pull has increased across all muscles, and what can I say, I’m a sucker for getting to see my progress.

Fill up one, if not both, of my new journals

This is one of those things I keep meaning to do – “journal” is almost always on my to-do list – but haven’t quite gotten around to. It’s that thing that I remember right as I’m about to fall asleep and tell myself that I’ll do the next day. Clearly that hasn’t worked out so well.

Eat 5 servings of fruits and veggies a day

I’m just about maintaining my current level here, checking in at about 2 a day. Halfway through the year, and I’ve upped my average fruit/veggie intake by one a day. Old habits seem to die hard, but I’m hoping the influx of lovely California produce can make it easier to get more of the good stuff into my meals without breaking the bank. This month I’ll be shooting for somewhere in the 2-3 a day range; trying to get one at every meal, but giving myself some slack and realizing I won’t hit that mark every single day.

Hang my clothes up the same day that I do laundry

I’ve gotten significantly better at this one, with my clothes usually hung up within 2 days rather than waiting until I next have to do laundry 😛 It’s helped that I just reorganized and rearranged my room, so it’s all pretty and I don’t want clothes lying around to make it look messy.

Top off my wardrobe and then stop worrying about it

I’ve been thinking about my wardrobe a lot this month due to making sure I’m within the dress code for work. Since I’ve finally go the go ahead to wear skirts/dresses as long as there’s leggings underneath, I think I may start opting for a “uniform” of t-shirt, skirt, and leggings. That’s easy to move around in, comfortable, and I can make skirts significantly more easily than fancy shirts or pants.

Get my money’s worth out of my sewing machine (if possible)

My poor little sewing machine. I’ve had a couple sewing projects sitting on my to-do list all month, but I’ve opted instead to keep working on my knit sweater and other crafty projects. I’m productively procrastinating by doing something else that I should get done anyway, but that doesn’t help me finish those sewn projects. Alright, this month I’d like to finish the two projects I have supplies for – one dress (from a pattern! oh noes!) and one skirt.


Leave a Reply

